The agreement to divide Czechoslovakia was signed at Villa Tugendhat by the Czech Prime Minister Václav Klaus and the Slovak Prime Minister Vladimír Mečiar on 26th August 1992. As of the first of January 1993, two new countries came into being in Europe, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Villa Tugendhat was a government building at the time. The negotiations regarding the separation took place here, partially somewhat symbolically as Brno lies approximately half way between Prague and Bratislava.