Villa Tugendhat is open to the public from Tuesday to Sunday
from 10:00 to 18:00, online ticket sale for 2015 here
please note that from 5 March to 31 May 2015, due to road works on the gas mains in the streets Černopolní, Tomanova, Muchova, Durďákova, Lužová, Trávníky and Zemědělská it will be impossible to park near the Villa Tugendhat.
Because of high interest in visiting the Villa Tugendhat we recommend to all visitors to book the tickets at least 2 months in advance.
More informations in the section FOR VISITORS.
The Villa of Greta and Fritz Tugendhat from the years 1929–1930, designed by the architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, is an installed monument to Modern architecture. It is the only examplar of Modern architecture in the Czech Republic recorded on the UNESCO List of World Cultural Heritage.
Villa Tugendhat underwent monumental renewal and restoration work over the years 2010–2012. Both the structure along with the adjoining garden were restored to their original appearance after the completion of the Villa in 1930. The interiors are equipped with exact replicas of the original furnishings.
The technical equipment for the Villa (the air technology rooms, the boiler room, the engine room for the retractable windows, the so-called ”moth” room) was restored in the basement and is newly accessible to the public as part of the guided tours. This area also houses an exhibition presenting the architect, the owners and the family life in the Villa up to 1938 when the Tugendhats were forced to emigrate in connection with the threat of World War II. Visitors can also now enjoy the bookshop.
The Study and Documentation Centre in Villa Tugendhat can be visited by scholars upon prior agreement.