VILLA TUGENDHAT IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FROM TUESDAY TO SUNDAY
FROM 10:00 TO 18:00, ONLINE TICKET SALE HERE
Villa Tugendhat will be closed to public from April 17 to April 30 due the regular maintenance of the building.
Due to great interest in tours we recommend to book your at least 2–3 months in advance. Groups of 5 or more people need a reservation even more time in advance.
Bookings for the second half of 2017 will only be accepted by email and telephone from 1 March 2017, online ticket sales will be operational from 1 April 2017.
More information in the VISITORS section.
The Villa of Greta and Fritz Tugendhat, designed by the architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and built in 1929–1930, is a monument of modern architecture, and is the only example of modern architecture in the Czech Republic inscribed in the list of UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites.
Between 2010 and 2012 the Villa Tugendhat underwent renovation and restoration work, during which both the structure and the adjoining gardens were restored to their original appearance following the completion of the Villa in 1930. The interiors have been equipped with exact replicas of the original furnishings.
The technical equipment for the Villa (the air technology rooms, the boiler room, the engine room for the retractable windows, the so-called ”moth” room) was restored in the basement and is newly accessible to the public as part of the guided tours. This area also houses an exhibition presenting the architect, the owners and the family life in the Villa up to 1938 when the Tugendhats were forced to emigrate in connection with the threat of World War II. Visitors can also now enjoy the bookshop.
The Study and Documentation Centre in Villa Tugendhat can be visited by scholars upon prior agreement.